In partnership with the Maine Memory Network Maine Memory Network

West Quoddy Head Light Keepers Association

West Quoddy Head Light Keepers Association Facts

Founded:
The first tower at Quoddy Head was built in 1808. It was ordered by Thomas Jefferson in an effort to quell border disputes over where American territory stretched to.

Mission:
The mission of the West Quoddy Head Light Keepers Association is to enhance the experience and knowledge of community members and visitors to the Lighthouse and Visitor Center, through education and displays, linking the lighthouse, community of Lubec, and the maritime world.

Collections:
The light keepers' house has since been renovated and changed over to the Visitor's Center, which currently houses the gift shop and permanent exhibits.

Facilities:
The original 1808 tower was built of wood. It was replaced by the current tower in 1857. What is now West Quoddy Head Light first opened in 1858. The current light keepers' house dates from that same year. The lighthouse was automated in 1988.